For the Love of Summer

It was summer when I first walked my first step in Stockholm and I instantly fell in love with the country……

It was summer when I first walked my first step in Stockholm. I want say lost in translation, you know, just like the one in the movie with the charming lady Scarlett Johanson, but I wasn’t as helpless as she was in the movie, thanks to all – well, almost all – the Swedes who can speak English very fluently with a very nice and clear accent. All I have to do is just stating some English words such as pardon, sorry, and english. And they’ll go like, “Oh! You speak English!” – not to forget the smile. A very friendly one. And that was how I instantly fell in love with the country.

I have been to some countries in Europe, where I learned that the average temperature in summer would be at least higher than 25 degree. As a person, who was born and grew up in a tropical country, I have had enough with the sun, and thus, I prefer any season other than summer. Summer is just the worse. I once lived in Queensland Australia, and I was too late to learn that the sun there always shines oh so brightly all year long – and it looks GIGANTIC, no kidding. But then now that I live in Stockholm, I’m soooo in love with the summer! I love the chills, I love the breeze, and the sun! People here have warned me about other seasons. They said November is the worse. But, you know, I’m all excited!! I can’t wait to see how autumn would be like, how much colder would it be in winter, and how all the flowers bloom in spring.

 

Leave a Reply

